The iPhone 4 is the best device out there…

Yeah, I said it.

I’ve had a draft of this post ready for almost a year now. I figured I better get it out soon before the next-generation iPhone drops and makes this obsolete… Then again, the iPhone will probably just reinforce this list with another 5 reasons.

Without further ado, here are the top 5 reasons why the iPhone 4 is, by far, the best device out there…

1. The applications…

You’d be hard pressed to find an app out there that isn’t supported by the iPhone.

My iPhone allows me to measure the threads of a screw, order a pizza, measure pregnancy contractions, have the Bible read to me, take 360º photos, watch movie previews and order tickets, resume playback from where I left off at home on Netflix, and tons more.

Not only that but there’s a new update just about every day for these apps as they continuously evolve. The support is amazing.

And that’s only half of it.

There are an immense amount of hardware applications available for the iPhone 4 as well. Notwithstanding the infinite amount of designer cases available, you can also find credit card readers, home theater systems, alarm clocks that you can get at Bed, Bath & Beyond, and Beats by Dre headphones, which offers dedicated controls compatible with all iPhones, iPads and even the MacBook Pro.

I mean lets face it, when you see big competitors such as Sony and Samsung making home theatre systems and other iPhone compatible hardware, you know who’s winning.

2. The media…

People tend to forget that the iPhone is also an iPod. It’s one of the best devices out there for music.

I love the way I can give a song 5 out of 5 stars on my iPhone so that I can make a playlist of my top dance hall or top rock songs in iTunes.

I love how the number of times I’ve listened to a song is synced so that I can easily make a playlist of the ‘most listened’ to tracks… Or least listened to for the under-represented…

Even the way it manages photos is good. I find other phones tend to consolidate all pics into one album. I don’t want to scroll through pics of my family in order to show someone a scenic pic I took somewhere.

The iPhone allows me to sort by event, by the GPS location where the photo was taken (places), by the faces in the pic, and by smart albums (eg. All pics with a 5 star rating or all pics from 2010).

The biggest opportunity for improvement here though is better integration with other social networks.

3. The browser…

I love being able to quickly access almost any webpage at any time.

The speed and way it renders text makes it a pleasure to use.

Sure there’s no flash but in all honesty, flash is a little overrated. The only sites that I find myself missing out on are those almost tacky, amateur websites for restaurants and venues… you know… the ones where music starts involuntarily blaring through your speakers when you least expect it..

All in all, it would be better to have flash so that I could play crazy games like this, but at the end of the day, nobody is giving up their iPhones because of it. Besides, there’s an app for that…

4. The finesse…

Whether its the ‘Tap to focus’ function during a snapshot, the smooth Visual voicemail implementation, the dedicated ‘back to top’ option, smooth landscape/portrait rotation transitions, the amazing responsiveness, the consistency or the sheer simplicity of it all, for 4 years and counting, the iPhone delivers the best usability experience, bar none.

5. The sex appeal…

The iPhone 4 is a smooth, polished and sharp looking device. It’s slick glass surfaces, deep black colour and vivid ‘retina’ display give it pretty good sex appeal as far as phones go these days.

Not only that but there are very nice skins out there that complement the phone rather well and are guaranteed to attract even more attention to an already spectacular device.

This wood grain skin I rocked a few months ago gave it a whole new lease on life…
The Wood Grain iPhone 4

Summary…

Nothing is perfect, but this is as good as it gets these days.

At press time, the iPhone 4 is the only phone that I can confidently recommend to pretty much anyone and as such, gets a 5 star rating in my books.

Posted on 2011/05/02, in Reviews, Tech and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 352 other followers

